The Danube-Red-Rhine-Maros-Tisza Regional Cooperation

The organisation was founded on 21 November 1997 in Szeged. The common name is DKMT Euroregion

Current members: the counties of Bács-Kiskun and Csongrád-Csanád (Hungary)

Arad, Krassó-Szörény and Timis counties (Romania)

Vojvodina Autonomous Province (Serbia)

Population: 4 million

The aim of the cooperation has been defined by the signatories so that it should develop and broaden relationships among local communities and local governments in the field of economy, education, culture, science and sports – and help the region to join the process of the European integration.

The General Assembly is the main decision making body of the DKMT Regional Cooperation. The General Assembly consists of the leaders of the regional public administration institutions, and the preparatory, coordinating and strategic decision making body of the cooperation. The full power members of the General Assembly (founding members and associated members) and other participants (permanent and case-by-case guests) take part in its activities. The Day of the DKMT Euroregion is organised on the last weekend of May every year at the Triplex Confinium memorial at the Hungarian-Romanian-Serbian triplex border. At such times, borders are temporarily opened and the General Assembly usually has a meeting.

The president-in-office is elected by the General Assembly for one year from among the presidents of the member organisations. The president-in-office cannot be elected in two successive years, and the rotation among the countries has to be taken into account during the election. The president-in-office directs the organisation in the period between General Assemblies, he coordinates the activities of the Secretariat, he has the Annual Report drawn up about the activities of the Cooperation and the implementation of the decisions made by the General Assembly. The president-in-office summons the General Assembly and chairs its meetings.

The Secretariat is responsible for administrative tasks: it maintains permanent contact with the member regions, contributes to the preparation of working documents, initiates and organises joint events, monitors EU programmes, prepares proposals and implements projects, as decided by the General Assembly. The Secretariat shall be located at the administrative headquarters of the President-in-Office. The Secretariat has three delegates - Hungarian, Romanian and Serbian.

The Duna-Körös-Maros-Tisza Euroregional Development Agency Public Benefit Corporation was established by the General Assembly on 24 May 2003. The founding members of the General Assembly established the public benefit society in order to achieve the development objectives set out in the statutes of the Danube-Red-Rhine-Mars-Tisza Regional Cooperation. With this step, the political organisation of the regional cooperation has been complemented by a legal entity, which is capable of preparing joint development tasks, preparing tenders, managing and implementing projects. Currently, it operates as a non-profit limited liability company under the name DKMT Duna-Körös-Maros-Tisza Euroregional Development Agency - Non-profit Public Benefit Ltd.

The DKMT Euroregion is a member of the Association of European Border Regions (AEBR), and Anna Csókási Eszter Csókási, Managing Director of DKMT Nonprofit Public Benefit Ltd., is a member of the AEBR Board.